Ohio State nav bar

Land Acknowledgement

We invite reflection on the land, resources, and displaced peoples of Ohio, and we strongly encourage department members and visiting speakers to offer land acknowledgments.  

We would like to acknowledge the land that The Ohio State University occupies is the ancestral and contemporary territory of the Shawnee, Potawatomi, Delaware, Miami, Peoria, Seneca, Wyandotte, Ojibwe and Cherokee peoples. Specifically, the university resides on land ceded in the 1795 Treaty of Greeneville and the forced removal of tribes through the Indian Removal Act of 1830. As a land grant institution, we want to honor the resiliency of these tribal nations and recognize the historical contexts that has and continues to affect the Indigenous peoples of this land.

Linked below and here, you can download a slide with this land acknowledgement to use at the outset of a departmental event.